Falling in love with Blushing Cook Cakes

So tell us…

  • Do you enjoy baking?
  • Do you love cake? We mean really love it
  • Are you a hopeless romantic? The kind that loves love.

If you said yes to any of these then this blog is especially for you.

When you scroll down Sammi-Jo’s Blushing Cook Instagram page, you’re instantly greeted by so much vibrancy – bold colours and pretty things (all of which are edible).

We caught up with Sammi to tell us more about the story behind Blushing Cook and to share with us her top tips for bakers, plus some cake recipes we can try.

131102-169-Edit

How did Blushing Cook begin?

I had trained as a pastry chef in various restaurants and at Le Cordon Bleu. I then went to work for a wedding cake company and whilst I loved working with sugar flowers, I was struggling to relate to it. We spent hours making something that already existed so beautifully. I wanted to use fresh flowers, fruits, edible flowers to decorate my cakes. I just wanted to create a fresh take on the more traditional cakes, which is what led to ‘Blushing Cook.’

 Tell us more about your Cake Philosophy?

I am very particular about the taste of my cakes. Some companies will compromise the taste and quality of the cake to be able to keep the price threshold down to concentrate on decoration. I stand firmly against this and have spent a long time developing recipes that I am happy to use. The cake is just as important as the decoration and they should complement one another.

What makes the perfect cake recipe?

Love and good ingredients.

It doesn’t have to be complicated, you just have to use good ingredients and take care how you use them. Once you get a feel for baking, you can free style a bit and add and take away and that’s when it gets exciting.

Can you give us one of your cake recipes to try?

Raspberry and apple cake
Raspberry Apple Cake: the beauty in this cake lies skin deep; the buttery soft sponge balanced with just the right acidity of the fruit. click here for the recipe.

Your cakes look gorgeous, can you talk us through the process you go through when designing and baking a new cake?

It really is just inspiration I draw from everything I see around me. I look to fabric prints, wallpapers, florists and the colours they combine. I wish I could turn off sometimes. I have a whiteboard on my fridge that is constantly filled with new ideas that spring to mind that I want to try. My photo reel is also very full of screenshots of beautiful things I see and want to come back to.

salted_caramel.png
Salted Caramel Cake

What would you say is the best part about making a cake?

The finishing touches and seeing other people enjoy it! Washing up is by far the worst part!

Do you think there’s a link between art and baking?

Absolutely! You are taking your palette (ingredients) and creating something from a blank canvas . Any creative process is the same. The pressed flowers are like my colour palette, they do the painting for me!

What do you aim to convey in your designs? Do you have someone who inspires that creativity?

I want everything to have an overall organic feel. I want my cakes to look beautiful but to still be appealing to eat, not too contrived. I am constantly inspired by many people, artists, chefs, designers, its hard to say someone in particular. I love Matthew Williamson’s designs. I also discovered a floral artist the other day called Joseph Massie, I’ve never seen anything like it, stunning!

Congratulations on being named in the top 10 trend makers to follow on Instagram in @perfectweddingmag –what do you think it is about Blushing Cook that people love so much?

My fantastic humour I would say … no in all seriousness I think people just like to look at cake. I take all my own photographs and try to make them light and pretty to look at.

Your cakes attract a particularly special audience – those excited to tie the knot – is there an increase in pressure making a wedding cake than a birthday cake and how do you deal with it?

No, I feel the same pressure for making any cake. I just feel more pressure on delivering it as its usually taller and that’s the only bit that gets me a bit more. I am just very methodical about how I approach them and always try to stay organised, panicking doesn’t work!

We see that you have an amazing photo reel of wedding cakes, can you share your favourite design with us and tell us why you love it?

This cake is decorated with organic edible flowers and it is my favourite design.

I love the idea that everything you see is edible and delicious.

I love that each design is different as each flower grows different every time. I love making it as its so bright and cheerful!

Blushing_cook_floral_cake_2

What top tips would you give to people who are looking to bake a cake for a special occasion, say take on a tiered cake?

I would recommend learning about dowels and supports that are used in stacked cakes. A lot of people are surprised to find out that we use supports inside the cakes which you cannot see, to stop it collapsing. As for the baking, use a simple cake recipe that tastes great.

What’s next for Blushing Cook?

This year is really about building on the success it has had in the past year. It has been a whirlwind and now it’s really about focusing on what has worked and what hasn’t. I would love to work towards opening a shop but I think that is quite far in the future.

 

If you’d like to find out more about Sammi-Jo’s cakes, take a scroll of her page here: instagram.com/blushingcook 

Leave a Reply

